Skip to content

IMsBB here I come….

February 4, 2010

I have been going back and forth for 4 years now about possibly doing a title contest.  I’ve always sided on the no. Giving tons of reasons not to do it. Ranging from skill level, time, expectation and so on when deep down inside it was really fear that was guiding my answers.

I ran for Ms. Boston Leather back in 2000. A girl from Portland, Maine I was surprised that they were asking me to take part. Even when I finished my application my then Master took it and mailed it to make sure I went through with it.  It was an amazing experience and because of what I learned about myself  I started taking the steps toward teaching , created ME-TNG back in the day and started making the leap for NYC.  It was my first real spring board.

Now here I am 10 years later and I am going to take another huge step on this path. I’m going to run for Ms. International Bootblack in April this year.  Every time I say it I get this wash of fear and excitement all at once. It’s truly amazing.

So why now?

Something clicked recently. I finally found the voice I really wanted to have for running. I am comfortable with me and who I am and what I do and how I do it. That’s huge and  the support I have received so far from friends and tribe has been wonderful and has shown me how blessed I am.  I am so excited to be sharing this experience. This is going to be one hell of a ride!

Watch out IMsBB…..Luna is coming!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

