Skip to content

“Flagging Skully”

November 23, 2009

My Boots Flagging Skully

If anyone has been in the scene for any length of time you might have come across the concept of flagging or hanky code. A concept originally stemmed from the gay leather scene, the flagging of a particular color and which back pocket you were wearing it in gave people an idea of what you were cruising for. Each color meaning something different Black= Heavy SM, Red=Fisting, Lightblue= cocksucking, Yellow= well you can guess. *grins*

Over the years I have “earned” 5 hankies. All given to me by the Dominant I was with at the time because they felt I had earned the right to flag those particular colors. I had always viewed it as something that needed to be earned. To have the right to wear. I still do, but the concepts of it all has changed recently thanks to the introduction of someone new in my inner circle.

If you haven’t met Skully from the NYC Fetish Tribe you’re missing out. An extremely outgoing and positive soul he will be the first person with a smile and  to make you feel welcome at a party. You will also notice his love of black and hot pink. They are his “colors”. Add the Skulls and you have his hanky which he wears.  We originally were introduced 3 years ago at Folsom Street East but hadn’t crossed paths again until Floating World this past August. The connection at Floating World was one of those, “he shouldn’t be able to do that to my brain,” moments and it left me wondering and contemplating alot when I left. We kept in touch and knew that we would run into each other again in October. I found myself scheming as far as what to wear. Finding Hot pink and black Cuban heeled seamed stocking which made me giggle  but the real find was boot laces that were black with hot pink skull and crossbones. As I clicked “BUY” on my laptop laughing an evil laugh my logic brain started applying the brakes, “You don’t do pink! You hate pink!” and my brain was right. Pink has been a hard limit and something that was considered punishment or a form of humiliation for me over the years. It made me cry, made me feel off balance in the past and yet here I saw it as a flirt, a tease, and was something fun. At least that was my thought process when I bought them. As the weeks went by and the event got closer my thoughts on the laces and wearing the colors was changing.  This was no longer a game. They were starting to mean something to me. A way to flag what I was looking for. I wore them and the stockings with pride. He was very amused by it all and like the fact that I was starting to make my intentions known.

After the event I was going to take the laces out but to be honest I didn’t want to. They kept me grounded. It kept him close to me in my brain. We discussed it and decided that having me “Flag Skully” on my boots made the most sense since I was a  bootblack and as one who does his boots where better to have it make a mark. So the laces stay. Any other pair of boots I wear I do my best to flag the colors as well. It’s made me rather creative with it.  It’s just a simple thing and to some it might be seen as a silly thing but in the end it’s important to me and to him and that’s really all that matters.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 12:08 pm

    It’s brilliant and I love it. I feel that way about my brown boots–pony was the first to clean them up and she gave me the laces that are on them. So I think of her every time I lace them up. Now if only there was a way for my other boots to “flag luna”….

    • Miss Luna permalink*
      November 23, 2009 12:27 pm

      Thanks…
      Keep in mind that the boots that are flagging Skully are mine. Sort of like Flagging that I am into bondage or heavy S/M. I’m Flagging that I am into Skully.

      It made sense to us. 🙂

  2. Darkteddybear permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:08 pm

    I so love the ways people take the beautiful traditions of our community and adapt them to make them their own. To ‘flag’ as bootlaces seems so perfect for you.

Leave a Reply

