Skip to content

Hey Luna? Where’s the dance?

September 8, 2009
tags: ,

Yes yes I know. I stuck my foot in the leather event pool to test the waters and the undertow pulled me in.  It’s something I need to get back into and fast. I have some great ideas floating in my head right now and one of them is actually a dance piece involving rope and partial suspension…..partial self suspension or someone else, which means working with someone in the creation process and the ones that would be awesome to help me with this are all far away which kind sucks.  If nothing else the submersion back into the kink world has given me some new insight into what is possible creative wise and has me now realizing more and more I have to get back to my studies dance wise.  Building strength and gaining more flexibility. Being in tune with my body just a little bit more than I am right now.

I actually am finding myself missing my dance classes and I am looking forward to getting back into it.  Also have Belly Horror on the horizon which I am very excited about and hope to get to take at least 2 classes from that event. I have wanted to attend Belly Horror for years now and to be able to go is going to be awesome. For those of you that don’t know what Belly Horror is it is a Halloween based bellydance event where the dance acts are all themed based on B-Horror movies, gothic and dark carnival themes.  Plus there are workshops and also a DC Tribal Cafe which will be a great way to end the weekend. Check out the website!  Belly Horror

Next week is also the start of the Fall Schedule for Tribal Dance taught by Joy of Fire in the Belly. I just love this woman.  I have been studying with her for 9 months and I have learned so much about what I am capable of .  Getting back into class with her plus back to online classes with Suhaila I think will be some of the best things for me. This week will be finding a center for myself again.  Resetting the schedule to be more manageable and not as hectic and pushy. I tend to not stick to it when it is too crazy. Expecting myself to do 5-7 days of training on top of everything else is just not a feasible schedule.  I know why I do it.  I want to have the skills NOW and not have to wait. I think that working myself crazy will get it done. I know now that it won’t.  I need to pace myself in all things which pretty much goes against my whole thinking process.  This is not going to be an easy thing for me. I know that, but I think what will come of it will be a much more positive process, and more things will be accomplished because of it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

