Skip to content

Concepts of Family and Tribe

September 3, 2009

I have come to value chosen family more and more as the years go on.

My Biological Father and I don’t speak anymore and my brother has sided with him. My Mom has been busy with her new boyfriend which includes her finally retiring. All of my grandparents are gone and there is really nothing left on my mother’s side anymore.

Right now the family and tribe that has my back is my chosen ones.  What has been amazing is how those tribes morph and change and grow over time.  My leather family from Maine has scattered to the winds. Pappa died, Momma I haven’t spoken to in years.  I have a few uncles left and my 3 sisters I am in contact with. Some more than others as they attend events and are out more.  My old tribe in NYC has changed and I don’t feel as much a part of it anymore. Some have made that very clear and I am okay with that.  I can move on and I have.

There are those that have proven through the years that I am special and important to them. Those that have been in my live for years. I sometimes wonder if I am deserving of such things but there it is.  Those of you that have been there through the years. Through all of the BS  and changes. I am so lucky to have you all.

There are my tribal sisters. Those I would not know what to do without. Words of confidence, encouragement, sometimes gentle, sometimes forceful and militant. You show me that strength and beauty comes in all forms.  Asharah, Joy, Natalie, Tempest, Mavi, Eugenia, Na’la, Hilary. Thank the gods for each and every one of you. Without you I would have given up ages ago.

Some of you  in just a view days of close living and inclusion I have found camaraderie.  Those that have been there with a helping hand, a shoulder to cry on, words of inspiration, a playful comment.

This picture is missing some amazing people: My Ghost, Spike, Sarah S, Amanda, Chris, Morgan, Leon, Sarge, and Feral.  You guys took me in and I found such amazing connection and friendship.  I am truly blessed.  Thank you all. I feel like I have come home after so many years.

From L to R: Lqqkout, Me, Graydancer, Lee Harrington, Cherry, Naiia, M.Mayhem (Photo by: a suspended Leon Von Monkeyfetish)

From L to R: Lqqkout, Me, Graydancer, Lee Harrington, Cherry, Naiia, M.Mayhem (Photo by: a suspended Leon Von Monkeyfetish)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

